18th International Symposium on the Reactivity of Solids

June 9-13, 2014
St Petersburg


Aim and scope

The scope of the symposium involves areas ranging from basic research to applied and material sciences, from aspects of technology, economy and ecology. The subjects discussed cover basic and applied aspects of new materials design, advanced methods of preparation and characterization, mechanisms of reactions involving solids, structure property relations, and new horizons of the materials application.

The aim of the symposium is to provide an opportunity to extend current knowledge, promote progress, and open up new vistas in the field. Since 1948 a group of distinguished scientists from all over the world and from a wide range of fields gathered at the International Symposium on the Reactivity of Solids to discuss recent results and future experimental developments in the fields of the reactivity of solids. A characteristic feature of this symposium is that it is not a function of a particular society but is arranged by a local organizing committee, with input from many past attendees, and lives on the enthusiasm and on the scientific curiosity of a world-wide community. The flavor is distinctly international and decidedly interdisciplinary.

A special focus will be devoted to reactivity of materials for energy and environment.


1 - Transport Phenomena in Solids: Point Defects and Reactivity of Solids
2 - Reactivity and nanomaterials
3 - Reactivity and Catalysis
4 - Reactivity of Materials for Energy and Environment
5 - Reactivity and composite materials
6 - Functional Materials for Sustainable Energy Systems (Batteries, thermoelectrics, solar cells, ...)
7 - Reactivity of Solids in the Geologic and Planetary Environment
8 - Novel materials and new synthesis routes
9 - Chemistry in unconventional media (ionic liquids, supercritical fluids, ...)
10 - Advances in Characterization of Reacting Solids
11 - Theory and modelling


1948  Paris, France
1952  Göteborg, Sweden
1956  Madrid, Spain
1960  Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1964  Munich, Germany
1968  Schenectady, USA
1972  Bristol, United Kingdom
1976  Göteborg, Sweden
1980  Cracow, Poland
1984  Dijon, France
1988  Princeton, USA
1992  Madrid, Spain
1996  Hamburg, Germany
2000  Budapest, Hungary
2003  Kyoto, Japan
2007  Minneapolis, USA
2011 .Arcachon, France
2013  Saint-Petersburg, Russia